Distinguished Visiting Indigenous Faculty Fellow, 2020-2021

Max Liboiron, Geography, Memorial University

Max Liboiron is a science and technology studies (STS) scholar, environmental scientist, and activist. Originally from Lac la Biche (Treaty Six territory), she is Michif-settler. Liboiron directs Civic Laboratory for Environmental Action Research (CLEAR), a feminist, anti-colonial marine science laboratory that specializes in grassroots environmental monitoring of plastic pollution.  An in-progress manuscript builds on this work to articulate pollution as a form of colonialism. Liboiron also runs Discard Studies, an interdisciplinary hub for research on waste and wasting and is the Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Research) at Memorial University.

You can follow Dr. Liboiron on Twitter; her handle is @MaxLiboiron, or learn more about her research online and on the CLEAR website.

JHI Project: Anticolonial Scientific Laboratory Collectives

Professor Liboiron will be a member of the Circle of Fellows at the Jackman Humanities Institute in 2020-2021, when we will be focussing on the annual theme of Collectives. During her time at the Jackman Humanities Institute, Liboiron will consider the ways ambivalence, compromise, and incommensurabilities are foundational to theories of change in anticolonial, western science collaborations, using CLEAR as a case study. Central to this research is the role of protocol. Protocols ideally orient collective action towards shared goals, values, and outcomes across differences in both scientific and ceremonial collectives: how might protocol provide a structure and scale thorough which to do collective anticolonial science? How are scientific protocols already about colonial land relations, and how might they come to explicitly foster anticolonial and diverse Indigenous land relations instead?

About this Fellowship

The Distinguished Visiting Indigenous Faculty Fellowship was inaugurated in 2016-2017, with the intention to bring a senior Indigenous scholar into the Circle of Fellows to do research relevant to the year’s theme. The name of this fellowship is transliterated below in the Anishinaabemowin language. Professor Liboiron will be the fifth person to hold this fellowship; her predecessors include Sherry Farrell Racette, Tracey Lindberg, Alex Wilson, and Heidi Stark.

The name of this fellowship transliterated in the Anishinaabemowin language