JHI Advisory Board 2018-2019

The Advisory Board meets five or six times during each academic year. Its purpose is to advise the Director on major questions of orientation and vision for the Jackman Humanities Institute, including policies, programs, and general oversight on all activities. The Advisory Board connects the Jackman Humanities Institute with the humanities departments and their faculty and students across the University of Toronto.  This committee is composed of senior faculty members and department chairs from the humanities disciplines, representatives from the University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM), the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), the Faculty of Arts and Science, and other faculties. Members are usually appointed for three-year terms.

Alison Keith
Director, Jackman Humanities Institute
Li Chen
Chair, UTSC Department of Historical and Cultural Studies
Laura Colantoni
Chair, FAS Department of Spanish and Portuguese
Wendy Duff
Dean, Faculty of Information
Anver Emon
Faculty of Law; Director, Islamic Studies Institute
Tara Goldstein
OISE Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
Antoinette Handley
Chair, FAS Department of Political Science
Julie Hannaford
Deputy Chief Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries
John Harwood
John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design
Susan Hill
Director, Centre for Indigenous Studies
Carl Knappett
Chair, FAS Department of Art
Sherry Lee
Associate Dean of Research, Faculty of Music
Martin Pickavé
Chair, FAS Philosophy (on leave 2018-2019)
Christine Shaw
Curator, Blackwood Gallery; UTM Department of Visual Studies
Paul Stevens
Chair, FAS Department of English