Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) Annual Conference

Philosophy logo

Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) Annual Conference

Thursday November 7, 2019 - Saturday November 9, 2019

The Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) will be holding its fifth annual conference at the University of Toronto.

Keynote speaker will be Katherine Brading (Duke University).

In addition, Max Kistler (Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne) will deliver a presidential address.

All other sessions will comprise submitted papers.

The call for papers is now open. The submission deadline is June 1, 2019. Notifications of acceptance will be delivered by August 1, 2019. Selected speakers should confirm their participation before September 5, 2019. See the Society’s conference webpage for submission details.

As well as various presentations, the conference will also feature an organizational meeting of the Society which will elect officers, continue to make various policies, plan future conferences, etc. Both those interested in presenting papers and/or participating in the Society are invited to the conference.

The conference is supported by Victoria College and the Department of Philosophy at the University of Toronto.

This page will be updated with program information closer to the conference date. [WEBSITE]

Program and Organizing Committees

Program Committee:

Giuliano Torrengo (Milan), Chair

Elena Casetta (Turin)

Natalja Deng (Seoul)

Lucas Dunlap (Cincinnati)

Elselijn Kingma (Southampton)

Francesco Guala (Milan)

Marco Nathan (Denver)

Jonathan Schaffer (Rutgers)

Alex Skiles (MIT)

Tzuchien Tho (Bristol)

Neil E. Williams (Buffalo)


Local Arrangements Co-chairs:

Jessica Wilson (Toronto)

Michael Miller (Toronto)

Assistant to the co-chairs: Marissa Bennett (Toronto)

Registration Fees

Early registration fees (before October 10, 2019):

Faculty: $75

Post-doc: $50

Students and Emeritus faculty: $10

Late registration fees (after October 10, 2019):

Faculty: $125

Post-doc: $75

Students and Emeritus faculty: $15